DSEAR On Site Assessment and Area Classification - CE Consultancy - machinery assessment and training - CE marking - PUWER & DSEAR risk assessment management and training

Go to content

Area Classification

The DSEAR Regulations require companies to evaluate their operations and to establish the main elements shown below.

Regulation 5: Carry out a risk assessment of any work activities involving dangerous substances

This is the main risk assessment module in DSEAR and there are several guidance documents to assist you in the process of area classification.


EN 60079-10

Institute of Petroleum Model code of Safe Practice Part 15 (Petroleum Products)

Institute of Gas Engineers Safety Recommendations IGE/SR/25 (Natural Gas)

Regulation 6: Provide measures to eliminate or reduce, so far asreasonably practicable,the risks

Risk evaluation is of primary importance, as this assists in removing unnecessary processes and functions from the hazardous areas, so minimising the impact on plant and equipment.

Regulation 7: Classify and zone places where explosive atmospheres may occur

Where hazardous areas do remain then any equipment which may present a hazard that will be used within it must be assessed, approved or certified in some measure, depending upon the severity of the risk.

Regulation 8: Provide equipment and procedures to deal with accident and emergencies

Many hazardous sites are themselves located along side other dangerous sites and may even be close to residential areas. The regulations require companies to put in place sufficiently robust accident and emergency procedures to deal with any event should it arise.

This may involve outside agncies, such as fire authprities, police, emergency services etc..
Regulation 9: Provide information and training to employees

Regulation 10: Identification of pipes and containers where these contain dangerous substances

One of the main areas in the regulations is the process of identification, where a flammable substance or hazardous situation may occur then it is important to identify these areas, along with any residual risk areas identified in the risk assessment.

Therefore appropriate signage must be used.

Regulation 11: Duty of coordination

A key area of the regulations is the requirement for the duty of co-ordination, which invloves establishing the correct protocols within a company to manage the risk. This includes training staff, liaising with senior management and outside agencies and ensuring a central point exists with the company where information may be obtained.

If you would like us to undertake a review of your hazardous area policy and practice then contact us today

Back to content